skip to primary navigationskip to content


Some of the scientists we are currently collaborating with.

Prof. Andrew Lever (Dept. of Medicine): Single molecule of virus-RNA capture

Dr. Colin Crump (Pathology):  Single molecule superresolution imaging of virus Particle Assembly

Prof. Peter St. George Hyslop, FRS (Cambridge Institute for Medical Research): Molecular Mechanisms of Alzheimer’s Disease

Prof.  Christopher Dobson, FRS (Department of Chemistry): Biophysics of protein misfolding and aggregation

Prof. David Ron (Institute of Metabolic Sciences): In vivo biosensor development for studies of protein homeostasis

Dr. Richard Adams (Department of Physiology, Development, and Neuroscience): Selective plane illumination microscopy of live organisms

Prof. Bill Harris, FRS (Department of Physiology, Development, and Neuroscience): Real time imaging of central nervous system development

Dr. Kevin o’Holleran (Cambridge Advanced Imaging Centre): Structured illumination microscopy development

Prof. Stefan Hell / Dr. Alexander Egner (Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry): Development of STED and RESOLFT microscopy in Cambridge

Dr. Jonathon Pines (Gurdon Institute): Quantitative FRET microscopy for studies of cell cycle proteins

Prof. Jeremy Baumberg, FRS (Department of Physics): CARS microscopy on plasmonic substrates

Prof. Philip Russell, FRS (Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light): Photonic Crystal Fibres for chemical sensing applications

Prof. Søren Keiding (University of Aarhus): Ultrafast sensing with supercontinuum radiation

Prof. J. Houston Miller (George Washington University): High sensitivity gas phase sensing

Dr. Jonathan Frank (Sandia National Laboraties): Planar imaging and microscopy to study chemical kinetics in flows and cells

Prof. Jonathan Knight (University of Bath): coherent and UV supercontinuum generation in photonic crystal fibres

Dr. Jan Felix Evers (University of Heidelberg): Selective Plane Illumination Microscopy (SPIM) development

Dr. Meez Islam (University of Teeside): Cavity enhanced absorption spectroscopy of liquid analytes

Profs. Eva and Eckhard Mandelkow (German Center for Neurodegenerative diseases): Molecular mechanisms of Alzheimer’s Disease

Professor Markus Sauer (University of Würzburg): in situ imaging of biological molecules using direct Stochastic Optical Reconstruction Microscopy (dSTORM)

Dr. Florian Hollfelder (Dept. of Biochemistry): Molecular Biotechnology using microfluidic droplet generation

Prof. Alan Tunnacliffe (Dept. of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology): Biophysics of intrinsically disordered proteins

Dr. Alex Knight (National Physics Laboratory): Development of optical superresolution imaging methods

Dr. Toni Laurila (Finnish Metrology Institute): Supercontinuum generation, modelling and applications for sensing

Dr. Alessandro Esposito (Hutchison/MRC research Centre): Development of multi-parameter microscopy using single photon avalanche photodiode (SPAD) arrays

Prof. Marek Samoć (Wroclaw University of Technology): Imaging DNA liquid crystals with gold nanorods